Review: Red Queen (Red Queen #1) by Victoria Aveyard

Review: Red Queen (Red Queen #1) by Victoria Aveyard

red-queen

★★★.5/5 | Goodreads


This is a world divided by blood – red or silver. The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change. That is until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power. Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime. But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart.


This book has been on my TBR since 2015 and I bought it back in 2016, hoping to read it soon since it was such a popular series back then. I finally decided to take it off my bookshelf and read it and was pleasantly surprised. It wasn’t the greatest book but it did make me want to know what would happen next in the series so I went ahead and ordered the rest of the books on Amazon 😂.

characters

I had some issues with Mare and her immaturity and I had to remind myself several times that she was only 16 or 17 and I was probably as annoying at her age. Something about the way she was thinking and her decisions were just too much for me to handle. I think it was a combination of the portrayal of the character and the mediocre writing that got the best of me.

I definitely enjoyed more Cal and Maven and the small love triangle. I like that they were very opposite of each other, which highlighted the different reasons why Mare was attracted to both of them.

Tbh, I did not care very much for the rest of the characters in this book. I found the story to be very centered around these three and didn’t find myself attaching to anyone else. It took me to read the next books in the series to start understanding their roles and reason why they were introduced in the first place.

storyline

The story is definitely not the most original YA storyline you’ll find. I got a bit confused as to what genre it was. Is it fantasy or more sci-fi? I kinda saw it as a Victorian era-ish at the beginning, but as we were transported to the castle and saw all the technology, I got kinda lost and confused. I could definitely see the similarities between this and X-Men, especially the First Class era.

The writing was also an issue for me. I don’t know why, but I felt like Aveyard’s writing was making me confused as some point. She was trying to make it too lyrical and too pretty, and it was everything but. Sometimes it felt like really difficult for me to understand the point she was getting across and it made me dislike Mare because of the way her thoughts were being described and portrayed.

The plot twist at the end definitely got me off guard. I kind of knew there was going to be a betrayal but I wasn’t expecting that and I’m really interested to see how it’s going to play in the next books. Kinda heartbreaking for me, since I was rooting for Maven.

overall

What really convinced me to read this book was because I saw a review that said that it was perfect for fans of Shatter Me. It was definitely entertaining but nowhere near the level of enjoyment I had when I read the Shatter Me series.

I’m still going to continue with this series because I’m very intrigued as in what will happen next and I already bought the books, so might as well. I recently finished King’s Cage and I can tell you right now that I wasn’t impressed 😓, which was really disappointing for me. I think I kinda want to know what the huge hype was about and why everyone was raving about this series but I just can’t seem to connect as much as the others. Maybe I should’ve read them when I was younger 😂.

signature

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s